Paris - A Vieux Paris d’Arcole

I have been back from Paris for a few days now and I am still in the weird twilight phase of jet-lag where I feel like my mind is suspended between sleep and dreaming yet somehow acutely in tune with all of the experiences I had in Paris. Jet-lag seems to work well for me creatively. Who knew?

Over the last few days I have been preparing my Paris photography for the gallery event at the end of the month. I will be sharing my experiences and photography over the next few weeks. I hope you will enjoy my musings and views of Paris.

There is so much to write about and share. I stayed in some truly epic hotels with fascinating histories and views and I got to meet some really amazing people. The beauty of travel is that it is something that is enjoyed multiple times: the first time while living through the experiences, and on subsequent occasions when you are able to share your experiences and fill in the memories with color, light, and emotion.

For now though, here is a photo from one of the first few days I was in Paris. I actually wrote a little bit about this spot in one of my earlier posts while I was in Paris. I ate lunch there with Hugo from Rendezvous with Paris while talking about the history of the area. While the interior is fascinating on many levels, the exterior is quite beautiful.

The name of the restaurant is A Vieux Paris d’Arcole which was built in 1512 after the completion of the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris. It is located at 24 Rue Chanoinesse and it even contains some remnants from Notre Dame’s interior. The diocese sold it in the 1700s when it became a wine bar. As one of the oldest restaurants in Paris, it also enjoys an interesting tourist exception in that the Mayor of Paris allows the external floral decorations which adds to its beautiful medieval character.

***Taken with the Sony a7R

Please check out France Guide on Facebook. If it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t be here taking photos of Paris and having the experience of a lifetime!

And I also must highly recommend Rendezvous With Paris. They offer passionate tours about specialized subjects as well as tours of different districts of Paris.

View: My photography portfolio, My Gear List, My Travel Blog, On G+,email me, or ask for help.

209 notes
  1. mariapapas reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  2. abeillejaune reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  3. sublimeinary reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  4. shittieperception reblogged this from amourist
  5. amourist reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  6. preserve-life reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  7. thatdarkhairedliterarymistr-blog reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  8. likuna26 reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  9. vicsterawr reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  10. valeriecollins17 reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  11. fightingfornothingg reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  12. rottenblackheart reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  13. thecoves reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  14. poli-luver reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  15. beautifuldancewhore reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  16. fayedolan reblogged this from nythroughthelens
  17. nythroughthelens posted this